01497 820296

Hay on Wye, a market town with a long and colourful history located in the Welsh county of Powys close to the border with Herefordshire.


Hay Town Council.

Death of the Duke of Edinburgh 

Please click on the link above for a pictoral tribute to the Duke of Edinburgh
The Duke of Edinburgh was the longest serving consort in British history, being with the Queen for 73 years, never wavering from her side.  His service to his country lasted over 80 years. He was a great sportsman and a major advocate for conservation. He also started the Duke of Edinburgh Awards 65 years ago, and was a lifelong advocate for young people in which he saw the awards as a do it yourself growing up kit that 6.7 million young people enjoyed. Long live the Queen.



Hay Town Council has 11 councillors (when there are no vacant seats) and two members of administrative staff. The Mayor, who is also the leader of the council, is chosen by the councillors.

The full council meets monthly, usually on the first Monday of the month, unless this falls on a Bank Holiday.  The council also has a number of sub committees who meet approximately every six weeks. Where possible we allocate councillors to sub committees that make the best use of their knowledge and experience.

The operation of the council is governed by a set of Standing Orders that cover, for example. how often the council meets and the conduct of meetings.  

Hay on Wye is a market town situated in the Welsh county of Powys on the border with Herefordshire. The Town is home to around 1700 residents but this increases considerably during the tourist season, particularly at the time of the world renowned Hay Festival and other large events and festivals taking place in the town.

Hay is located in the North Eastern corner of the Brecon Beacons National Park which is an area with beautiful and varied scenery and home to one of the first Dark Sky Reserves.

Latest Minutes - Covid-19

Council Meetings - Hay Town Council continues to hold full council meetings monthly. These are held remotely via the Zoom platform. Minutes continue to be published on this website.

The Minutes of the last Council Meeting can be viewed here. For other minutes please use the Meetings and Minutes tab at the top of the page. 

Please note that minutes are generally a month behind as they have to be agreed and signed off at the following month's council meeting.

Minutes of Meeting February 2021




















Meetings & Events

View the Calendar for dates of council meetings and other events

View Calendar



Latest News

(click on the picture to access full article)


Get in Touch

If you to wish to contact an individual councillor please use the email address in the Councillors section. Messages sent from this page will be picked up by the Town Clerk and passed to the relevant person.


Hay Town Council office, Sports Pavilion, Brecon Road, Hay on Wye, HR3 5DY

Phone 01497 820296